101st Paratroopers [Stephen Li]
You have the power of deployment. Innovations like the helicopter and airplanes allow you to set up however you want. 
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At the beginning of the game you have fifteen points.  These are used to choose pieces, with a rook being five, knight and bishop three, pawns two and a queen six.

You then deploy these pieces, plus a king anywhere in your 3x5.  You may not capture, check or checkmate enemy pieces until five turns have passed or you have lost a piece
British Empire [Stephen Li]
You have the power of rifles. Your men are trained so proficiently with the rifles that they are near invincible. 
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Enemy pieces may not jump over your pawns. (Note: With the knight if either of its possible moves to a square, move through a British pawn it may not make the move.)

Additionally when you make a double move with one of your pawns you capture everything in the two squares that you are moving through.  At the end of every five turns you get a pawn which you may place in your 1x4.  Your pawns can promote to a queen, but you may only have one at a time. 
Cossacks [Cole Clark]
You have the power of the stables. You can horses to defeat your enemies. 
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Every other turn you may move a rook or bishop as a knight.  If you wish you may sacrifice a pawn on a turn you can’t move like a knight to do so.
Crete [Joe Richman]
You have the power of the maze. You can trap your enemies in an inescapable labyrinth. 
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Whenever an opposing player’s piece’s move through the center 4x4 center square, that player rolls a six-sided die:

1. The piece is destroyed by the minotaur
2. The piece may not move
3. The piece may not move 
4. The piece moves normally.

5. The piece moves normally.
6. The piece may move twice, but may not capture with the second move.
The Crete player is immune to his own power and thus does not have to roll when moving through the 4x4 center area.
Horse Lords of Parthia [Aditya Chandromohan]
You have the power of recruitement. You can muster the surrounding peoples to your cause.
[image: image6.png]



Whenever one of your horses moves into the center 2x2 you can either place a pawn in your 2x4 or replace a captured knight
INS [Cole Clark]
You have the power of Border patrol. You can stop the enemy from getting across the board.
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Opposing pieces cannot jump through pawns.  At the start of every three turns you get a pawn which you may place in your 3x5.  Your pawns may not capture unless there are three or more of your pieces threatening the piece you are going to capture.
KGB [John Fritzen]
You have the power of spies. Your spies allow you to gain the upper hand when all seems lost.
[image: image8.png]



At the start of the game write down on a sheet of paper one enemy piece, except for kings and pieces the enemy has only one of, with the exception of rooks, bishops and knights.  That piece is the spy.

At the start of one of your turns, instead of moving you may reveal that piece as the spy.  You gain control of the piece.  Once revealed the piece may not capture pieces from the player it originally belonged to.
Ninjas [John Fritzen]
You have the power of deception. Not all is what it seems and the positions of pieces on the board may change very quickly.
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At the start of your turn you may instead of moving normally exchange places with one of your non-pawn pieces and an enemy piece.  You may not check/checkmate a player when you do so.  You may not use this power two times in a row.
Quantum Troopers [Alex Nisnevich]
You have the power of uncertainty. Your opponents can’t predict what your pieces will do.
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King is Schrodinger's Cat: Whenever it is captured roll a die - on 1,2,3 it is captured but on 4,5,6 no capture occurs and the other player's move is skipped.

 Rooks and Bishops are Heisenbergian Uncertain Rooks and Bishops: Whenever you move one of them choose either a known direction (up, down, left, right) or a known distance (1, 2, or 3 squares). The quantity that wasn't chosen is uncertain - roll for it:

 Direction: 1-up, 2-down, 3-no movement, 4-no movement, 5-left, 6-right

or

Distance: 1,2 - no movement, 3,4 - one square, 5-6 two squares

 

The piece is shifted the chosen number of squares in the chosen direction after moving, jumping rather than moving. If it would land on another player's piece, that piece is captured. If it would land on your piece or over the side of the board it stays in place rather than performing the jump.

 

Knight is Quantum Entangled Knight! The knight can choose to move to two squares at once, represented by two knight pieces. Both knights stay on the board indefinitely and either of them can be moved later. If either of these entangled knights moves or is captured, the other one is destroyed.

Republic of Texas [Joe Richman]
You have the power of walls. You can wait the enemy out behind your walls.
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When a piece moves into your 3x5 it must make a roll:

4-6 everything is normal, 1-3 the move fails and that player’s turn is over.

Your knight is able to shoot diagonally two spaces every turn like a mafia bishop.
The Third Crusade [Ben Pyle]
You have the power of bravery. Your leader, Richard the Lionhearted’s bravery, courage and skill, lets him crush the enemy from the front-lines inspiring his men.
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Your king can only be captured when there are three or more pieces threatening it.  When this happens it is automatically captured at the start of the player with the most pieces threatening your kings turn, or if there is a tie, the next players turn.

Additionally, your pieces may choose to move up to three squares (but may not capture) in any direction that they could normally move in, but you will skip your next turn when you do that.
Troy [John Fritzen]
You have the power of walls. You can wait the enemy out behind your walls.
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While your piece is in your four by four, your pieces cannot be captured from further than two squares away.  Opposing knights ignore this rule. 
United Kingdoms [Stephen Li]
You have the power of the english channel. The natural waterway between you and Europe gives you ample time to destroy attackers with your airplanes.
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Enemies can not enter Britain's 4x4 unless they first stop one square adjacent to it before continuing. Units specifically citing stealth/jamming operations or immunity to special powers are exempt from this. 
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 can attack any enemy anywhere within your 4x4, ignoring any pieces in the way is also immune to any enemy powers.  However, the airbase cannot move.
West Germany [Alex Nisnevich]
You have the power of Airlift. You can quickly move your forces on and off the field.
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 Instead of moving, you can choose to either 

- take a piece you control off the board as long as it is within two squares of another piece you control, or

- place a piece removed from the board with this ability on the board as long as it is placed within two squares of a piece you control.

World War I Germany [Alex Nisnevich]
You have the power of submarines. Your U-boat strikes can take your enemy off-guard.
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At the beginning of your turn, place a torpedo (represented by a pawn) in the same square as each of your submarines in your 2x4 starting area that does not already have 2 torpedoes, and remove all torpedoes not on a submarine. You may, instead of moving, declare unrestricted submarine warfare with a player - this declaration is permanent, and you can use this ability up to once for each other player.

 

Submarines jump up to two squares diagonally, carrying any torpedoes that they possess. They cannot attack. If a submarine is not submerged, then moving it will make it submerged - its position is not revealed but is secretly recorded. Pieces may move over a submerged submarine, and any piece that moves into a square with a submerged submarine captures it. Submarines can stay submerged indefinitely, but when submerged submarines move they become unsubmerged. Instead of moving, a submarine may fire a torpedo in any direction. The torpedo does not immediately move, but at the beginning of each other player's turn, the chosen torpedo moves one square in the chosen direction.

 

Whenever a torpedo that is not on a submarine moves into a piece or is captured by a piece, both the piece and the torpedo are destroyed. The submarine that fired the torpedo is destroyed as well, unless:

- either the owner of the piece that was destroyed by the torpedo had captured one of your pieces over the course of the game, or

- at some point in the game you declared unrestricted submarine warfare on the owner of the piece that was destroyed by the torpedo.
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